Preakness · Triple Crown

Preakness 2015 Picks


HRS Preakness CoverageTomorrow is the 140th running of the Preakness Stakes.  All eyes of the horse racing world will be on Pimlico Racetrack, seeing if American Pharoah will be able to get the second jewel of the Triple Crown and move on to the Belmont Stakes with a chance at history.  Honestly, I don’t see it happening.  I think it is a strong possibility and American Pharoah is a top contender to win, but I believe that the Kentucky Derby took too much out of him for him to make a stretch run.  If he is in the lead entering the stretch, then he will be fine; but if he is behind, not going to happen.  So, without further ado, here are my picks:

Top Three Contenders:

My top contender in this race is a horse I loved in the Kentucky Derby, Firing Line.  I think that of the Triple Crown races, this is the one he was made for.  The distance is ideal, the pace will help, and his post helps a lot.  I think he can run away from this field.  Dortmund is a very good horse and can sustain a second.  American Pharoah should hit the board as well.  Our top three finishers in the Derby are my top three finishers in the Preakness.

Projected Order of Finish:

  1. Firing Line
  2. Dortmund
  3. American Pharoah
  4. Divining Rod
  5. Bodhisattva
  6. Danzig Moon
  7. Mr. Z
  8. Tale of Verve

The Bets: (Numbers Refer to Official Program Numbers)

  • WPS: 8- Firing Line
  • Exacta Box: 1,2,8
  • Trifecta: 1,2,8 with 1,2,8 with ALL
  • Superfecta: 1,2,8 with 1,2,8 with 1,2,7,8 with 1,2,4,6,7

As for the Black Eyed Susan, I think Luminance is a very good favorite and my pick to win, but I don’t like the odds (as good as she is, she is no where near a 9/5 favorite).  I like some value underneath with Ahh Chocolate, a filly that will be running late.  Although she is making a big step up in class, from allowance to Grade 2, this is a very weak field and I like her late kick.

If you have an opinions on the races this weekend, feel free to comment below or Tweet at me on Twitter.  Best of luck this weekend, enjoy the races, and may the best of successes come to you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

